View Single Post
Old 03-13-2009, 12:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Change4life

Better to surrender than fight

Ive been coming here to SR since 2005. Originally because I thought drugs were my problem even though ive been drinking for 30 years. I was able to stop the drugs and have been off them 16 months now. I knew drinking was a problem and I needed to do something. Over and over people kept telling me to get my butt to some meetings, but the addict in me wouldnt allow it. I recently met someone who also has a problem and wanted desperately to go to a meeting. I told her I wasnt into it, but if she wanted I would gladly go with her if it would make her more comfortable. Anyway it made it wasier for me to go cause in the back of my mind I wasnt going cause I had a problem I was going for her. Yea right!
The first meeting we went to I was to busy looking around and trying to analyze everything to listen, but we wnt to another meeting. I got settled in and I listened. We both listened. We both cried and we have been trying to hit 1 meeting a day.
I dont know why it took me so long. I dont know why I wasnt willing to go for myself but I would go to help someone else. Whatever Im just glad I made it. I met some new great and caring people, got a bunch of #s and although im still drinking I feel free cause I see hope for myself through the people that have been able to embrace the program and gotten better.
IM drinking not because I want to, but because I physically need to. So I put a call into the detox center by me and Im waiting for them to call me back when there is a bed available. Im scared and dont want to go, but I think im gonna just friggin go and get it over with instead of continually suffering. Drinking has been making me severely sick.