View Single Post
Old 03-04-2009, 12:04 PM
  # 11 (permalink)  
ReadyToHelp

Milena, that's funny.

Bearfeet, I studied education and over the years and I was particularly interested in how we learn languages (I love language learning). As I learned about how we acquire our native language, and then a second language, I learned what we need to do in order to remember words, grammar, idiomatic expressions. As adults, foreign languages are filled with stuff that doesn't make sense to us because they can be completely different from our native, so there's nothing to associate anything with. (For example, in Russian, there is no verb "to be" in the present tense. You you'd say "I cold". You just have to do it, even if it doesn't make sense to an English speaker.)

The way you learn a language, or anything, is to consistently have it before you. Not just physically, but mentally. When I learned new words, I'd think of them throughout the day, put them in sentences, recognize relating objects and said the word in my head. This review was re-in...I forgot the word. I seldom use it these days. You see, it's gone. It'll bother me for the rest of the day and it'll come.

Our memory works that way, too. If we don't use words on a regular basis, they kind of fade away into the back part of our memory, so when you're looking for that word you know exists, it's on the tip of your tongue, but you can't quite remember it...Most likely because you haven't used it much lately! Using the word is reinforcing it. That's the word!