View Single Post
Old 03-03-2009, 11:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Dryspell

This is my coming OUT?? Newbie here

The mind is weird, it tends to find justifications for our bad behavior. I actually thought about buying a six pack then setting up my profile for this site. I was actually going to make my first post a "funny" story explaining how I'm having a few drinks for the last night. Somehow I convinced myself that it was not a good idea and why start tomorrow night when I should and have to start tonight. So tonight I have not drank.

My situation is a bit unique because I work 3pm to midnights. My normal daily routine is as follows. I usually wake around 10:30 in the morning I don't usually have any headaches but i still feel hungover. After waking I make myself some coffee. I usually start to sober up by 12:30 or 1pm but since its so close to work time I basically lose my daytime hours sobering up. I leave the house at 2 pm and work until midnight. Here comes the kicker...on the way home I stop and buy either a six pack or a bottle of wine. Get home around 1am and THEN I start to drink. This sounds amazing to the handful of people that I confess this too. Not only is drinking a problem but then I get hungry after drinking around 3:30 am and decide to eat right before going to bed. Then the cycle is repeated the next day. Weekends I find different justifications but the end results are similar except i will start around 6pm and drink until 2 am both Saturday and Sunday not to mention I will drink way more on a weekend.