Old 01-27-2008, 07:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ChristinaMarie

Question Starting a relationship with a recovering alcoholic....

Hi,

I'm new to this site... I'm new to this whole thing. I recently met an amazing man, we had a meeting like that out of a movie, and immediately hit it off with one another. From our first date, which took place over coffee, he told me he no longer drinks, and it was implied at the time it was because his father is a serious alcoholic. Over a short period of time I soon realized that he was also a serious alcoholic and was just beginning his road to recovery.

I am also a child of an alcoholic. But, unlike him, I do not have a serious drinking problem. I am a social drinker, and as I get older (and hopefully wiser), the less I care to drink. So, after a few weeks of an intense courtship, I went on a overnight trip a few hours away with some of my best girlfriends. He and I chatted before I went to bed, and he revealed that he may not be able to date someone who drinks, even socially. Upon this declaration I asked then he tell me either way sooner than later, because I did not want to become more emotionally involved with him to have him then cut me out because I like to have a glass of wine at a dinner party or out with my girlfriends. When I came back from my weekend, he had changed a great deal, and he was having an episode of urges to drink. He didn't, and once he was through it we had a long talk.