Thread: first time
View Single Post
Old 02-01-2007, 12:11 PM
  # 13 (permalink)  
jsummer63

I am new to this myself

I am a 43 year old mother of two young children & two older children. Who I love and adore. Easier than I do myself. I posted a thread elsewhere and don't know how all this works...but I just wanted to share a little.

I really don't know where to begin so I will start with the list of who I am. I am a neglected, depressed, abused, anorexic, bulimic, ex user, and current alcoholic.

The worse that brought me to seek help was in my mid 20's when I was 5'9 and weighed barely 70lbs. I was in a abusive, destructive, lonely marriage with two small children.

Fortunately the two grown children are beautiful children with issues of their own. Which I am sure I had a huge hand in. Now I have a hand in messing up my younger ones.

I now am involved and engaged to a man that has beaten me like a dog. On a few occassions and now mostly with his mouth and intimidating behavior. I can't say that the alcohol doesn't help me somewhat stand up. But I am one not to resort to hitting. I have always been one to abuse myself way before I abuse anyone else. But isn't that just another part of me that plays the marytr. Knowing good and well my actions and behavior are affecting someone.

The reason I am writing is now my abuser has used the alcohol as a way of throwing me down even further. He is right. It is pathetic. The one thing I never wanted to become. My parents were alcoholics, and ragers, and totally incapable of giving parental love and nurturing. So I become them.

I started drinking and realized that it started helping me let go of the anorexic and bulimic rituals. It even helped me lose weight. It helped me lose alot, alright. I tried telling my doctor that I had it in my head that if I stopped then i would gain weight and I would go back to the other things. I truly believe it. Now I find that I am not only those things but an alcoholic on top of it.