Leaving one of my groups...

Old 05-17-2013, 03:14 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
recovering alcoholic

Leaving one of my groups...

6 months, 3 day! (Day 187)

I attend 3 recovery groups a week. I have been attending these 3 groups for over 6 months now. My Thursday night group used to be my favorite group. There are 7 of us who make up the core group. There have been visitors along the way and others who have came and went, not taking sobriety seriously. But the 7 of us who make up the "core" group have all remained faithful to sobriety and to the group.

But in the last 2 months I have seen a shift in the subject matter of the group. We have steered away from S/A (substance abuse) and have started discussion on other matters. The facilitator of the group has let it go. The last 3 weeks we have discussed leg waxing (the females, 3 of them, decided to compare their experinces one night while the guys talked - not kidding - fishing (that is all but me). They have talked diets, kids, vacation and last night the conversation for the girls was cooking and the guys talked....well, I can't remember.

I have brought it up a few times about staying on subject, only to be ignored. So I have decided that last night was my last night. I need to find another Thursday night group that is devoted to recovery. I have been awake all night deciding this. I need to stay focused, least I fall. I am very serious about my sobriety.
Old 05-17-2013, 05:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I've switched up my meetings a few times. Sometimes meetings change, other times I change and find that what I used to get out of certain meetings I don't anymore.Plus its fun to "shop" around, try new meetings, meet new people. You can always go back to that meeting later on to see if things have changed.
Old 05-17-2013, 04:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
recovering alcoholic

Yea, I'm finding all of what you said is true. Thanks for info.
Old 05-18-2013, 11:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Keeping it simple!