A Question

Old 10-19-2011, 09:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Question

My husband has been sober for almost 7 months but since getting his 6 month chip he hasnt been to a meeting. Communication is all but gone between us. He seems fine and friendly to others but me. I'm still learning about the disease of A and I know there's physical sobriety (not actively drinking) and then theres emotional/mental sobriety. I was reading that alcoholics often vent their own feelings on those around them. Can someone shed some light on this? I am in Al Anon and am trying to keep the focus on myself but reality is I feel like I have a roommate and not a husband. I just want to understand if for nothing else, my own peace of mind.

Thanks
Old 10-20-2011, 07:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Just a quick disclaimer: I don't believe in the existence of the "dry drunk." As far as I know, sobriety is sobriety.

Anyway, my wife felt similarly when I stopped drinking. The thing is, when a person drinks, his personality can change dramatically. When I drank heavily I enjoyed different things, was interested in different things, etc., compared to when I'm living sober. So when I stopped drinking, all those interests and favorite activities changed back. This caught my wife off guard, and we had to find new things in common to enjoy. But before that happened, we went through a period where it was tough to find fun things to do together. For a while we basically lived separate lives.

If your husband is anything like me, then perhaps he is going through something similar. In other words, it could be that his tastes and interests have changed, and that you guys will have to find some new things in common, just like my wife and I had to do.

Of course, it could be something else entirely. But that's one possibility. Good luck figuring it out.
Old 10-20-2011, 09:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My experience is pretty close to vinepest's