Hiya, new to the site and a question...

Old 12-22-2008, 12:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hiya, new to the site and a question...

I had been drinking for about 20 years, then a couple of weeks ago I faced losing my family because of my addiction. I quit drinking and haven't had any real cravings or wants except one night when we went to Hooter's, then bowling for my son's 15th birthday, I missed "knocking off the edge". My problem is that I'm sure like others, I get extremely bored and am easily agitated almost all the time. Will this agitation subside as I continue to get used to sobriety, or is it something I will have to constantly work on? Since quitting, it is sometimes very difficult to just "put on a happy face". Some things just **** me off and since I don't have a way to numb these feelings anymore, I tend to get frustrated very often. I appreciate anyone else's input especially if they have had similar experiences.
Old 12-22-2008, 01:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

Welcome to SR!

Many people experience anxiety in early sobriety. A good thread to take a look at is in our alcoholism forum. It is at the top and I think it is titled "Quitting, what to expect, what we did"

Old 12-22-2008, 03:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Yeah, I have been looking around and have found many posts about similar feelings. Thanks for the welcome and Merry Christmas!
Old 12-22-2008, 03:51 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Oh ya, emotions were raw for quite awhile.

I spent a lot of time on the telephone with other people in recovery. I am taking a lot of calls this winter from others with that same need. It's so nice to have people on the other end of that line who "get it."

Welcome to SR!
Old 12-22-2008, 03:59 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Drunkaholic

I expect I would feel the same, but I am lucky (for me anyway) that I live alone, I'm have no SO, and I don't have to spend a lot of time at my office.