Notices

Sick and Tired

Old 04-18-2019, 02:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sick and Tired

this is my first post here. I feel like the title speaks for itself. I’m so sick of the person alcohol has made me become and what my life has come to. Never did I ever think this would be my life. I am so disgusted with myself and I know I need to change but I have absolutely no idea how. I want to stop drinking so bad but I can’t seem to stop and that scares me. It also scares me the amount of alcohol I consume daily. I don’t just binge drink several times a week or just in the evenings. I drink ALL DAY LONG. I’m talking from 8:00am in the morning until I pass out some time at night. I have to sleep it off at some point in the mid morning/day but after I wake up I start all over again. I am a writer and at first, the alcohol was doing “wonders” for my creativity but now I can barely concentrate to write 500 words. I would consider myself a functioning alcoholic because I can still take care of my kids and do what needs to be done for the most part but I know what I am doing can’t be good for my body and my family deserves way more than a the tipsy version of myself that I give. I’m afraid to admit what I am going through to anyone. I have told my husband but to be honest he isn’t much better off than me. We both enable each other I think and he doesn’t think he has a problem like I think I do. I will admit that I drink more than he does but we both drink way more than we should and everyday. I’m afraid to my addiction to anyone else, especially my parents...but as I slip deeper into it, my handle on things loosens even more. I am so afraid and have never felt more alone in this life.
Old 04-18-2019, 05:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome newbegin
You'll find a lot of support here.

I was an all day everyday drinker. Incredibly I thought I was functioning, but of course I wasn't. I've never regretted leaving that life behind.