Notices

Need advice

Old 10-30-2010, 10:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need advice

Hi I'm new to SB and want to thank everyone for thie advice I've read. I was looking for some advice...

I've been addicted to oxy/Vikes for 3 years on and off. I have just recently decided to quit and become sober for good, and I'm doing it cold turkey. I've been trying to stop since about May... but at about every 2-3 weeks clean, I'll relapse again. I've been going to meetings everyday, I've got a group of guys I hang out with that are all in AA, I've been seeing a hyponotist once a week, my girlfriend is supportative... what else can I do to quit for good? How can I break past the 2 week mark without relapsing?

I've just started Suboxone today, but I dont want to get addicted to another drug... I just want help to stay sober. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 10-30-2010, 11:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
AAudrey

Go to at least one meeting a day; get a sponsor, get a home group...ask1. God to remove the obsession every morning and 2. thank him at night,3. read appropriate literature; 4. call people in your fellowship, 5. go to a meeting every day.

That's all you need to do! It works! It really does!
Old 10-30-2010, 11:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
AAudrey

Would also suggest learning about FEDs. Faulty emotional dependencies. It's in Step 3 in the 12 and 12 and in working with others in the Big Book of AA.

Anyway, it's really about substituting [anything] before your relationship with HP.
Old 10-30-2010, 01:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am a nurse. I have been using IV dilaudid for about 2 months maybe alittle longer. I decided yesterday I was done. Today I feel awful. Body hurts, craving it bad, and Ive cried all day when I wasnt sleeping from the clonazapam I took because I heard it helps get through the bad part. I need someone to talk to. Noone knows this about me. Im scared please help . Nurseneedshelp
Old 11-01-2010, 07:52 AM
  # 5 (permalink)