Notices

My son is dealing crack - help!

Old 07-21-2008, 07:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My son is dealing crack - help!

Any advice would be appreciated. My son is 17. He's doing alright in school, B- average or so.. he's popular, plays football - has two divorced parents (13years ago)who get along well, step-parents who are supportive, four grandparents who love him, no family history of any drug or alcohol abuse. I'm his father. I'm a lawyer, I work hard, but have spent lots of time with him, coaching ball, going to his games, etc.. So - last month he comes out and tells me he's been selling drugs to make money. I assume the best, that he's selling marijuana, and for a few weeks, I struggle as to what to do.. I'm amazed he told me, and I try to tell him he has to stop - he says I don't understand, there's no way he can get caught - he only has two customers (couple). That his plan is to save $30,000.00, buy a "brick" and then sell that for a $100,000.00 and stop - to get a start on life. While I'm trying to deal with it - he's exhibiting continuing, subtle, disrespect. Won't clean his messes in the kitchen, when I decline his request to drive my vehicle (Lexus) because he has his own vehicle, he argues with me, calls me an idiot, last week, he walks into the kitchen with his shoes, carrying a golf bag - I tell him to stop - he gets very angry, suggests to me he's moving out because "it's not working at home".. I then tell him that he's right, it's not working, I'm not waiting up til 3:30am worrying about him every night - that if he's going to be rude, come home at all hours, he should move out.. that progresses to a bigger argument. I then call his mother, tell her about our problem - that he's saying he's moving out.. and she freaks out, calls him, calls him a low-life-loser, and when she talks to her husband, he tells her my son also told him , and that in fact, he's been selling crack cocaine.