Notices

My story .. newbie here

Old 03-31-2009, 11:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My story .. newbie here

Hi everyone.

I'm a 39 yr old male who stumbled upon this site in my journey to recovery and staying clean for good.

Am I an addict? That's the million dollar question I ask myself. One may say I'm in denial since I'm not just shouting it out to the world or accepting the responsibility of my actions.

I always considered myself a recreational user of coke, I go months without any desire but when I do it I go off the deep end and binge. Not sure what my triggers are and I'm working on identifying them.

It was a bad weekend. My wife knew I was a recreational user (if there is such a thing), but I am, like everyone else, a different person when I'm high. Well after skating on thin ice my wife took the kids and left me and I don't blame her.

So here I am, day 4 clean no desire and plan on attending an NA/CA meeting to help in my recovery.

Thanks for listening.
Old 03-31-2009, 11:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To infinity.....AND BEYOND!

Welcome to SR! Glad you're here.
Old 03-31-2009, 12:39 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Alone,
Hi, I'm a recovering opiate/crack/cocaine addict, 6 months clean. For the opiates, I'm on a Suboxone treatment program that help with the cravings for opiates and the withdrawls.
As for coke, I'm on my own with that. You become very mentally addicted to coke, I know I did for sure. I had snorted coke on and off for years. I did my first line at age 17.
But, two years ago I tried smoking it, (crack) for the first time, and THAT was the beginning of the end for me. One of the reasons I gave in and tried it, (even I though I swore I never would), was I'd already had one surgery...septoplasty...on my nose due to all the powder I'd snorted over the years, and it was giving me problems again, cause the surgery didn't stop me from using. It got me good after trying it after the third time...I was hooked.