Gooch's story

Old 11-16-2003, 07:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Gooch's story

I won't go into sharing all the drugs I did .. This is where we post our recovery stories?

Suffice it to say that I grew up after Woodstock and my peer group were late blooming, flower children, anarchist, bikers .so there was no shortage or any availability limitations.
I graduated Regents in 1976 and went to a technical college. I have had a myriad of jobs/careers.. all the way from washing dishes to electromechanical /systems operation,diagnostics and repair. I was married, became a father, and divorced in the space of 2 years in the mid 80's. The birth of my daughter played a big part in shattering the wall of denial I had built.

Minute by minute.. thats the way I remember white knuckling for nearly the first 2 years. They say Just for Today! I had to say in my head Just for right the f**k now, I am not gonna pick up the first one. Just for this minute I am not even gonna leave the house because I dunno if I can stay away from the dealers door.

In 1988 when I went to my first out patient treatment (and subsequently my first NA meeting shortly after) , and then after getting high again, an inpatient treatment center.... (I stayed clean there a month) and then back to meetings.