Dee74's story - Part One

Old 04-07-2010, 05:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Administrator

Dee74's story - Part One

I always felt different - I couldn't help being that way - I was the crippled kid with the caliper, and the stutter - but I always fought hard to be accepted as 'normal' - as one of the gang.

I was the tough little kid with the smart mouth (no stuttering when being a wiseguy) - stubborn too...if something or someone knocked me down and dared me to stay down, I'd get up again..and again...and again.

But somewhere around 16, that all changed.

Several things happened - I went to a new school...I discovered girls...I became a lot more self conscious about my disability...and I discovered marijuana.

I never went overboard in those days - too scared - but I loved the feeling I got whenever I could smoke it....

I escaped - it was like swimming was to me - while I was immersed, everything 'worked'...all my limitations were gone....or so I thought.

I graduated school - I wanted to earn money right away and move out.

Working was difficult tho - I felt I was starting again from scratch, coming up again and again against people's preconceptions about me - bosses, co-workers and again women...

I became more and more frustrated with everything...become a loner - I moved out and found myself smoking pot more and more, as I started hanging around in bands and with other musicians.

I started drinking too, which was a surprise to me...I come from a long line of alcoholics – I swore I'd never go there.

But gradually the drinking took hold too - it seemed easier, and quicker, for me to fight the stresses and disappointments of my life that way than the hard slog I was used to as a kid...and, gradually, imperceptibly the old tough self reliant me became someone quite different.

Finally fed up with the menial tasks I was given at work, I went to University. I hoped that maybe there I could be appreciated the way I wanted to be.