Jay's Story

Old 09-12-2003, 01:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Jay's Story

Hi

I like to stay anonymous, so I go by the name Jay Walker, and I am an Alcoholic.

I grew up in southern California, I can remember how i never felt quite right, I always felt like there was something different about me, and everybody could see it but me.

I manged to make it through my school years and never really had more than one or two friends. so I was very nieve when I graduated high school and went out into the world, I found a job at a factory, and took a few night classes at the local college.

I was so messed up inside that I had still never had a girlfriend, not that I didn't want one, I was just scared that I wasn't good enough.

anyway one night at a friends house, I was handed a vodka tonic,
I remember how that first drink felt to this day, first I felt the warmth going down, then I felt myself relax, I had a couple more, and for the first time in my life, everything was OK, actually everything was great, I had confidence, I could laugh and smile, I had found my miracle drug that I would take daily from then on for the next 20 years.

it didn't take long and I was getting into trouble, like minor in possesion of alcohol, and drunk in public, then came the D.U.I.'s

I was sent to A.A. and a drunk driving school. I was also put on antabuse by the courts, to keep me from drinking.

during the antabuse period I tried some drugs, but nothing gave me what alcohol did.

I finished with my required A.A. meetings and graduated the drunk driving school, and went back to drinking right away,
from that point untill I got sober, my life was just a series of embarasing drunken escapades, and ruined relationships. I lost a lot of good jobs, cars etc.
I lost a marriage, and remaried and had two sons.

and sometime during this time, I reached a point were I was drinking because I had to, and it wasn't fun anymore.