SB7 - Step One

Old 03-02-2013, 11:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

SB7 - Step One

Just got the book Path's to Recovery yesterday at a meeting...

It was the best meeting I've been to out of the 5 that I've been to and I'm really grateful for that.

So last night I got into step one and underlined a ton of things.

Then I was so glad today to find this forum and then see that you had a step study thread like this. It's just what I needed!

One of the parts that I underlined that actually made me laugh out loud was:

"Today I know that I am powerless over all the nouns and pronouns in my life -- other persons, places, and things."

Something about the way that was written hit me in just the right spot. Maybe it's because I used to be a teacher and it's one of the only contexts where I tend to hear people talk about nouns and pronouns. haha

But it was just what I need to hear because not only am I powerless over alcohol...and what my addict husband does when he's using...

But I am powerless over him when he's not using...
And I'm powerless over what happens when I get in the car...
And when I get on the phone with my sister and we start talking...
I'm powerless over the weather...
And I'm powerless over my health...
I'm powerless over the silverware in my drawer and the birds flying overhead.

Everything!

When I get still and think about this, it goes so deep like a meditation. And that's exactly what I need.

I also realized that this part about how my life had become unmanageable because I was so busy taking care of others that I didn't have time to take care of myself...has been going on in my life for a longggggg time.

Where as many addicts and alcoholics talk about remembering their first drink with such vivid memory and how it affected them, I remember the moment when I first felt the compelling need to take care of someone else rather than myself -- and that set into a motion a lifetime of feeling like I needed to do that.