Notices

Can't do a 4th Step

Old 01-19-2010, 08:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can't do a 4th Step

I've been balking on my 4th step for a few months now. I've started to actually sit down with a journal the past week and stare at it.

My problem is that I don't have resentments. I had a couple extreme resentments against my father and a stepfather since early childhood. 10 years ago, after living a bitter life, a just accepted things. I came to peace with things and through hard experience learned the self destructive nature of resentments. Even though I was a drunk, I could still get an understanding of other peoples motivations in situations, and realize my faults in situations. I realized long ago I am the only one who gets consumed when holding a grudge. I still get wronged, and get angry about it. It's a natural emotion. But I just don't hold things anymore. I might be angry a couple of days, but that's as far as it goes.

I've been sober a year now. I'm trying to do this 4th step. I talk to my sponsor about this. He has he never met anyone who doesn't have resentments. So it's getting to the point where I'm just writing down people I got mad at, even though I never held a resentment against them. I feel like it is lying, but I want to get this over with. I'm actually trying to work up resentments for these people as I write them down, like "I can't belive he did that too me!" But it's just stupid.

I also have been making a list of the 7 deadly sins and when I act on those. That I can write on for months, but it's not a 4th step.

Maybe I'm not ready for a 4th step yet? Am I deceiving myself?

Anyway, I figure some people had the same problem, so I'm posting here to see what other people say.

Thanks
Old 01-20-2010, 04:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi JJ

I never thought I had any serious resentments, ones that were important enough to put on my 4th step. I also tried to work it using the seven deadly sins... which did sort of help kick the logjam out a bit.