Notices

Suicidal new sponsees

Old 07-27-2017, 11:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Suicidal new sponsees

I've had three women I have met/started to work with, who right from the start or extremely early on, tell me they are suicidal, or that they recently tried to kill themselves or wanted to kill themselves.

How common is this?

Where do we draw the line between helping to guide an alcoholic through the steps and the big book, and helping them when they are in mental crises?

I think I handled it okay, but I am rather new to sponsoring and this isn't what I thought it would be about. So I'd love to hear feedback, constructive criticism, suggestions, personal experience, etc.

I thought I'd be helping people who were trying not to drink, to get sober and recover. I didn't think I'd be dealing with people who unfortunately suffer from mentally illness beyond alcoholism.

Woman #1:
1) I worked with her for a while. I allowed her to vent, as I tried to help her change her thinking and show her a new perspective. She was working on her 4th step, but stopped when it was time to look at herself.

When I tried to set boundaries regarding her calls, texts, and venting, she got suicidal. I spent a couple of hours trying to tell her that God loves her, that's not God's will for her, etc.

We were going to meet up for coffee before the next AA meeting, to get her back on track with her step work. She no-showed, didn't answer my calls or texts, fizzled out, and I haven't seen her since. I was so worried about her. She didn't return any future texts or calls. I've since heard that she's okay, goes to other AA meetings, and she's taking women through the steps. (I don't know how she can, but that's not my business.)

Woman #2
A recovery friend of a friend fairly new in program texted me to say that she gave my name and number to someone who is "a complete mess", and needs help. (I set a boundary and asked her to not give my name and number out without my permission. )