Secular: Definition

Old 07-08-2006, 07:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Secular: Definition

Ok I admit I had no idea what that word meant.

For those of us who don't have a clue what it means, here is the definition:

sec·u·lar Pronunciation (sky-lr)
adj.
1. Worldly rather than spiritual.
2. Not specifically relating to religion or to a religious body: secular music.
3. Relating to or advocating secularism.
4. Not bound by monastic restrictions, especially not belonging to a religious order. Used of the clergy.
5. Occurring or observed once in an age or century.
6. Lasting from century to century.
n.
1. A member of the secular clergy.
2. A layperson.

Just thought I would share...
Old 07-08-2006, 07:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I only disagree with the pronunciation in fear that I have been saying it wrong for twenty-five years.
There are secular movements that respect religious faith and treat all people with love and kindness. It is the absence of a dogma that makes secularism an infinite resource. Attacks on any God are atheism, not secularism in general.
I may be completely crazy, but I embrace a religious faith and a worldly one at the same time.
Old 07-08-2006, 08:24 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have a Higher Power since coming into AA and I remain secular. The only thing recovery has reinforced in me is that i just Don't Know. And that's ok for me now. I can hand it over, I can believe with all my heart in a power greater than myself that can restore me to sanity. I don't know what I am, but I know it's only my ego that tries to convince me that it really matters. Peace knows no bounds. It's incomparable to what I had, and if people here have the same feeling bu use different language to describe it, who am I to disagree.
Old 07-08-2006, 09:05 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
I'm an addict.

"secular spirituality" (although somewhat oxymoronic) is a common term used today to define a belief system based on compasion and ethics free of religious dogma.