First SMART Meeting/update

Old 02-20-2014, 04:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First SMART Meeting/update

So I went to my first SMART meeting. It was really really great. I loved how it was just about acknowledging your negative thoughts, behaviours, and feelings, and learning how to correct them. I will definitely go back (especially because I have mental health issues too and the CBT approach really resonated with me).

I am still a newbie I suppose. I am about 5 or 6 weeks sober, not really counting, but it's nice to know a ballpark figure.

I went to the pub the other night. Oh man. I was feeling emotional and triggered after I got off work and thought I might cave. I hadn't had any really strong cravings until that night. I ended up reaching out to my sober buddy and got some support. I drank coffee, was bored, stayed sober, and left early.

Some people might ask why even bother with the temptation... But the way I see it is, I am going to resent being sober if it prevents me from participating in activities or events that I otherwise would participate in. I need to live my life "normally" in order not to feel like I am missing out on something.

You know? No one even asked/noticed/cared that I wasn't drinking. What a relief.

Sorry, this is a bunch of topics at once. Just haven't posted in a few weeks. I'm still here and sober and looking forward to my next SMART meeting!
Old 02-20-2014, 07:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Self recovered Self discovered

Very impressive, DW. I have added aspects of SMART to my toolkit, and the CBT stuff I find very helpful too in keeping an even keel. Acknowledging thoughts without judging them and getting all wrapped up emotionally is great mental hygiene, and I see this as a common theme CBT shares with mindfulness and even with AVRT.

Thanks for sharing this great news.
Old 02-25-2014, 09:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Reach Out and Touch Faith

Glad you got things from your meeting. Remember we all were newbies once ;-)