SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Secular Connections (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/secular-connections/)
-   -   SMART says alcoholism is not a disease (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/secular-connections/189909-smart-says-alcoholism-not-disease.html)

ClayTheScribe 12-05-2009 11:07 AM

SMART says alcoholism is not a disease

Hey I'm fairly new to SMARTRecovery and I noticed in their literature that they avoid the term "alcoholism" and do not consider it a "disease" but rather maladaptive behaviors. I see their logic, not wanting people to just fall back on "oh I have a disease I'm helpless; there is no cure." And instead see their drinking problem as bad behaviors they can change with work. But I've also read that science has isolated the gene for alcoholism and I know it passes down from generation to generation, including my own. I don't know what to think. I'm not sure it even matters so much as you stay sober.

What do you all think?

basIam 12-05-2009 11:15 AM

Originally Posted by ClayTheScribe (Post 2452625)
Hey I'm fairly new to SMARTRecovery and I noticed in their literature that they avoid the term "alcoholism" and do not consider it a "disease"

How does the dictionary define disease?

I'm not sure it even matters so much as you stay sober.What do you all think?

For a real alcoholic, it doesnt.

sign me,

basIam, a RecoverED alcoholic (as that is how AA suggests I describe myself)

FanofJoeMcQ 12-05-2009 11:27 AM

Three generations of alkies in our family. Sounds less like a behavior in our family.

SalParadise1951 12-05-2009 12:39 PM

I recently re-read Addiction and Responsibility by Seeburger. I'm not sure I picked up on this idea the first time through but on this read I came across some of the most informative idea's on the disease concept of addiction that I have ever encountered.