Notices

After 1 day relapse does one need to detox again?

Old 05-26-2006, 06:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

After 1 day relapse does one need to detox again?

I am concerned.

I had been drinking for almost 5 years. Beer for a few, then whiskey the last.

Eventually getting up to around a 5th of whiskey a night, every night.

I decided to stop drinking and had withdrawal problems. Severe
anxiety, insomnia and twitching was the start of it, so I seen a
doctor. I had heard that it can get fatal and wasn't sure if I was that far gone chemically/neurologically at that point.

He put me on an "ativan taper" just to be safe. In his words "so the brain can cope with the absence of the alcohol and prevent seizure or worse".

This worked wonders for the anxiety and twitches and insomnia. I then
tapered off after 9 days total.

Anyway this is 2 months ago.

I relapsed and got full blown drunk yesterday however. No whiskey, too much beer to count, but far less than a 5th of whiskey worth.

Today I am hungover and all, no desire to drink.

I am concerned that the major withdrawal symptoms requiring drugs will
return though.

Would I need to drink for days or weeks for my body/neurology to
get used to the alcohol so much so that I would have risk of a seizure
or stroke from not drinking again?

I will get withdrawal medication instead of drinking again if I need it, but I
don't feel withdrawals.

To disclaim: I am not asking for medical advice here in any way.

Any experiences with relapses that brought on DTs or withdrawals after
only one days episode?

Other than the hangover of course. I mean seizures etc.

The only thing I could find is a guy who was sober for around 3 months, relapsed for a full week every day, then had problems again.

Am I in the clear to not develop DTs or dangerous withdrawals again from this single binge?
Old 05-26-2006, 06:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)