Notices

Not sure if I am...?

Old 05-15-2006, 11:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure if I am...?

Hey all,

I'm not sure whether I have a problem or not. I'm 21 and I drink wine every night while cooking dinner and then with dinner, and then sometimes after dinner... it's not unusual for me to have a bottle a night on my own. But mostly it's 2-3 glasses. I like the feeling I get when I'm all warm and fuzzy and it feels safe and secluded, after a few drinks.

I feel like I'm drinking to escape, but I'm UTTERLY confused because I'm happy with life. I love my fiance, I love our home, our dog, everything. I'm happy! Why am I feeling like I need to drink?

Am I simply being decadent? Because it's 'classy' and I can? Or is there something deeper?

I'm a psychology student and I can usually get in my own head and analyse things pretty well... I'm aware of the text book definitions etc but this is just NOT making sense! Why drink to escape if I'm happy? Am I sabotaging my happiness? Feeling I'm not worthy of it? That's the closest thing I can think of.

I feel like I'm teetering on the edge of a problem and I don't know why. Any opinions?
Old 05-15-2006, 11:06 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome to SR!

This site is full of information and support...
I suggest you read a bit and make yourself at home.

It's great to see a new member looking for answers at such a young age...Congratulations!

Have you ever seen rhis?

http://alcoholism.about.com/od/problem/a/blquiz1.htm
Old 05-16-2006, 04:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad you're questioning your behaviour. Is it possible that you aren't quite as happy as you think? I used alcohol to mask my emotions, many of us do. It's likely, that if you're drinking to feel safe and secluded, you are trying to escape something. I'm not saying you're an alcoholic, that would up to you to decide.