Notices

trying

Old 05-15-2006, 10:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

trying

Hello everyone

I have been viewing this site for awhile, very interesting.

I think I regitered here a few years ago but never posted.

I have been driking for about 10 years, first 7 years I drank once a week, 8 beers/

last 3 years every second day. For the last 2 years I have been trying to quit. i get a couple days and then i just go back to it. I understand the disease from the imformation. what I can't understand is how the heck can you stop. Its driving me crazy. I really want to quit.
Old 05-15-2006, 10:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Om, Aum, Ohm...

I knew I was alcoholic long before I got sober. I exhausted religious, medical, and psychiatric means, and was still drunk and/or high. I couldn't stop on my own because the problem went far deeper for me than having issues with a substance in a bottle or a pill.

I use the twelve steps of recovery to (a) keep me from picking up again and (b) to help me live a life that I want to live, not blot out by drinking and getting high.

Need hotline numbers? Meeting lists? They're available, regardless of where you live.

Peace & Love,
Sugah
Old 05-15-2006, 10:51 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It's quite remarkable, how this works. The more you keep reading, and the more you keep writing, and honestly thinking about your use, the less able you'll be to keep drinking. If you're really WILLING keep your mind OPEN to what you read here and what you hear from others who understand what you're trying to do, and you're HONEST about your use and intent to stop, you can quit. But it does take active effort. I'd been waiting to "grow out of" my addiction for many years but it doesn't go away on it's own. If you really want to quit, you can. The answers will be revealed to you if you're open to them, and seek them out. Best to you...
Old 05-15-2006, 01:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Here is how I quit
1) Got brutally honest with myself about my drinking and my life