Notices

StormyBlue...

Old 05-09-2006, 05:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

StormyBlue...

I'm sorry that I can't introduce myself thoroughly here, but for several years I was a high profile writer on a popular site. I would honestly get slammed with not only emails from a great many people who would want to help...but also lose quite a bit of respect from several others if they found out this particular situation I've put myself in. I'm really not trying to make myself look like some kind of great writer up there, it's simply the truth.

That being said, I'll try and explain myself and why I'm here as best I can. I have two young children still living at home, one in school, the other will start school this September. I've been an alcoholic for almost a year now, I don't drink during the day, only in the evening and at night when my husband is home. I guess what bothers me the most is that I was a Bartender for a very long time, and never in all those years did I have an alcohol problem...I barely drank at all.

I must apologize now, I'll have to continue this later. I'm losing my concentration right now, which happens a little too often. Although I will say, that my original reason for coming to this board was with the hope of finding someone who has been in my situation...and kicked this awful habit.
Old 05-09-2006, 05:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome Stormy and I'm glad you found us. You'll get lots of support and encouragement here.

I became an alcoholic in my mid-forties and was astounded that I could have lived so many years without being bothered at all by alcohol and then, so quickly, be overtaken by the disease. Looking back, I see addictive behaviour in my life, but I didn't know what it was at the time.

Take small steps and don't drink today. Try to not be overwhelmed with thinking about 'forever'. And, try to not worry about others are thinking about what you are doing. Stopping drinking is really hard, but you can do this!