Notices

my husband still in denial

Old 02-18-2006, 04:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

my husband still in denial

I am new to sober recovery and i am reaching out to anyone who might have any idea what I am going through. It has been so hard and i have been so alone. My husband is clearly an alcoholic. He doesn't physically do anybody any harm or get destructive or anything - however, since i have begun to demand attention to his problem, he has been verbally and mentally abusive. We have a 9 1/2 month old beautiful baby girl whom we both adore. It breaks my heart, the idea of anything influencing her the wrong way. I don't feel that there is any way to win no matter what. I try so hard, i've gotten mad, i've given ultimatims (sp?) i've been understanding, i've gone to the silent treatment, i've had long extensive conversations with him. Once in a while he will admit that he has gone too far. But most times he says i over dramatize things or that I am a psycho. Like i said, he doesn't hurt anyone but it is disgusting to live with someone who drinks by themself to the point of being drunk and then pretends that it doesn't happen. I can't communicate with him when he is like that - it is like a lost day in our lives. It happens sometimes several times a week. He is always dishonest with me, i have caught him hiding beer in every place you can think of in our garage and around the house. Today is a perfect example. He left to go to the grocery store and to the video store and to the pharmacy. He came home at 4p.m., 3 hours later drunk with all of the groceries and stuff. What happened? It is like 15 degrees outside and somehow he found a way to get wasted before or after the grocery store? I just can't understand it anymore, we have this wonderful child that he loves and why isn't that enough to want to be a better person and be happy and want to be positive? Instead he treats his body like a trash can. I hate it. I used to love micro brews myself and hanging out like any