Notices

Methadone Maintenance

Old 11-28-2005, 05:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
On a Wing and a Prayer

Methadone Maintenance

Hey, guys. I am new to SR and also to recovery so bear with me. I am a heroin addict and have been addicted to opiates for almost 10 years. I am doing my best to stay clean and sober, but the cravings are making me very weak. Does anyone have any experiences they can share with me about methadone or suboxone? I really think I need something to help me with this addiction, in addition to attending meetings. Thanks!
Old 11-28-2005, 06:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, webhostgirl. Members of SR who have experience with both will be along soon, I'm sure. In the meantime, pull up a chair, take a read around and keep posting. We're glad you're here.
Old 11-28-2005, 08:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
In Paradise!

I completely forgot about Subutex but I hear it works well for withdrawl symptoms, no personal experience. I also hear its pricey...

Hope it helps
Old 11-29-2005, 10:34 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

suboxone vs. methadone

I too was a heroin addict and have experience with both drugs. i used the lethadone to lower my tolerance and just finished a detox schedule with a doctor on suboxone. i can tell you this much. the withdrawls, physically at least were much better comiong of the subutonex than meth or heroin. i have been without any opiotes for 10 days now and am on naltrexone, which if you are succesful in detoxing, may be a great fit for you. if you find you cant get far enough away from the opiates then you maywant to consider methadone or sub maintenance. but i am sure everone here would agree that the goal is to be truly grug free. please IM me or email me at salvitore******.com. i dont have the respect or value of some posters here who have been clean for much lomger but perhaps i can help you get thrpught the early stages as the experience is so fresh in my mind.

sal
Old 11-29-2005, 10:46 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
NA Rocks!