Notices

My clean and sober husband had a relapse

Old 09-03-2005, 01:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My clean and sober husband had a relapse

Hi, I'm totally new to this... I've never dealt with anyone with addiction. I apologize in advance for my long rambling story...

Before I met my wonderful husband over 10 years ago, he had been through NA with great success -- never even took so much as a decongestant! and when we married 7 years later, I knew there was, of course, the possibility of him falling off the wagon... but I thought that possibility was slim to none.

We lived in NYC during 9/11, about a mile from Ground Zero. It devastated us, I became nervous and he became full of rage (never toward me, but on the road, on the street...). One evening he asked me for one of my Xanaxes that I had for flying. I didn't know what to do, so I gave him one, and he liked how it calmed him down without making him "high". A year later we got married and he would occasionally take a Xanax when we flew. I believe that was the catalyst that made him think he could handle narcotics again. Fast forward to a year and a half later -- I started to find random pills on the floor of our apartment. He always had some crazy excuse. In hindsight, I should have known right off, but he was very convincing with his stories. I was working long hours and he was being the best husband one could wish for -- happy, agreeable, cooking all the meals, etc.

One day before work I found an Oxycontin on the floor. I confronted him and he broke down and cried and told me all about how over the past 8 months he had been taking "piles" of Vicodin, and he realized that when Oxy came into the picture, that he'd better stop. Especially since we had bought a house in Austin, TX, and were getting ready to move there. So he quit pills cold-turkey, was miserable during the detox, but I stuck by him and tried to make him as comfortable as possible. I was really proud of him.