SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Struggling...I just don't get it! (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/62260-struggling-i-just-dont-get.html)

pearl 06-18-2005 06:05 PM

Struggling...I just don't get it!

Today....I just feel desperate. I just don't get it. I am really working at sobriety, I've worked hard all of my life so that bit doesn't frighten me. I've worked in some jobs where you really have to take a "good look" at things, life, yourself...and I just don't get it. I was a pediatric oncology nurse for many years, I'm retired from that and have moved into economics which is stimulating and lucrative. I'm very involved in my program, AA and step work, community service. I'm young, healthy, intelligent, well educated, creative, beautiful and I still don't get it! I have a great husband, supportive family and friends, live in a exotic enviroment and ????? My life is all questions...no answers.

I feel as if I put in enough hours soul-searching, that I might feel more positive and up beat...but I've just felt very depressed and unmotivated for the last 3 weeks. It's just so hard, thanks for letting me vent.

Love Pearl

JT 06-18-2005 06:17 PM

Recovery is a journey. It is not all uphill...I am sure you have heard the onion analogy. We keep peeling away layers all through our lives.

I suspect you are at a new phase in your recovery and until you do a little more soul searching (yes....again), speak to you sponsor and go back to the 1st step you will continue to feel the way you are.

Al Anon here...10 years...and I have done my own share of backtracking and it always goes back to the basics, and relearning them whether I want to or not.

((hugs))
JT

CarolD 06-19-2005 01:30 AM

Gee,,,