Notices

Hello - I'm new to this...

Old 06-01-2005, 01:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello - I'm new to this...

Yeh I've bin out of treatment for 6 days (after 6 months). I feel a bit institutionalised and wonky and emotional.

I don't have much of an idea how to use these forums but they look useful. Is there any chat? I'm in England so the time zones might be a problem.

I don't like asking for help y'know, even this is wierd.
Old 06-01-2005, 02:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Dreamlike...Now

Jackdaw,
Welcome to SR.

Congrats on your sober time. I felt a little socially inept after getting out of treatment too:andy: . Don't worry it gets better. Plus you can practice in cyberspace for awhile!
I didn't like asking for help either, but I quickly learned that I had to if I wanted to stay sober!
Keep Reaching Out Chap!
Tanya
Old 06-01-2005, 02:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
everything is already ok

Hi Jackdaw,

Welcome to SR.

nogard
Old 06-01-2005, 03:06 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

hello Tanya. It'll be my 6 months on the 11th. I had a detox on meth and diazepam which i aint counting.

Since thursday when I left treatment I just got on done the things i needed too. I never went back to my home city cos i only know people that use there. So after 6 months wrapped in cotton wool, I've come out to live in a strange city.

I've had an excellent week though. Every day I've woken, after sleeping well, feeling FREE, and happy. I've done my morning bit and gone out round Chester and explored, its been hot and sunny. I even went rowing on the river today. This is my 1st time abstinent. The idea of abstinence never occured to me in 18 years of drinking and using. So now i am paranoid that i need to have another go to convince me that i need 12-step recovery to stay clean. Everyone I've met in NA & AA seems to have a few gos at it it before they surrender.
See thats me over-complicating again. today i am clean & reasonably content.

David
Old 06-01-2005, 03:19 PM
  # 5 (permalink)