Notices

need help...first time here

Old 04-25-2005, 11:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

need help...first time here

Not sure what to expect. I've never tried to quit drinking before. Need some pointers and advise....thanks
Old 04-25-2005, 12:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Psalm 118:24

Got any meetings where you live?

I've never tried to get serious about stopping until I joined AA. You might try the womans site on here if, you've got any questions you might want to say with just the nice ladies on here

welcome to the site

Chris
Old 04-25-2005, 12:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks Chris....I'll check it out.
Old 04-25-2005, 12:26 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

hi.. this is my first time trying stop drinking, ect. and i've been sober for 2 weeks so i don't know much but here's what i have learned:
-go to a meeting and LISTEN. people say a lot of crazy sh*t but i've never heard anyone say they regret getting sober.
-one day at a time. this is something everyone will tell you a lot but repeat it to yourself..and sometimes it's one hour at a time or one minute but that's how you do it no matter how bad you feel just try to get through that next moment w/out a drink (or whatever) and that is a victory.
-even if you don't believe in God or even a "higher power" talk to him and thank him and ask him to give you strength. If spirituality is new to you this may seem silly but nobody gets through aa w/out accepting god in some way, and there is a reason for that. your recovery depends on others: people in the program, your sponsor, and your god. you need these people to depend on because it is really hard to stop by yourself so why make it harder for yourself ? use aa as a support system
..i wish you the very best in your recovery and look forward to hearing from you again.
Old 04-25-2005, 12:38 PM
  # 5 (permalink)