SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Who wants to join the newbie count? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/56122-who-wants-join-newbie-count.html)

nevermind 04-11-2005 06:22 PM

Who wants to join the newbie count?

I'm on day 2 today and tomorrow will be 3. Anyone want to join the newbie club with me? Let's be newbies together. I need a group.

nevermind 04-11-2005 07:34 PM

Can the old timers share a good piece of experience, strength, and hope?

I would like something to hold on to.

hector 04-11-2005 10:54 PM

OK, es&h, here goes:

I have alot of all three. I've been sober over 16 years. I'm only an expert on my own story. That's all I'll ever be. Yesterday is experience, tomorrow is hope, to give me strength for today.

I've been checking this board often for months and I am disappointed that there's so few oldtimers posting here on these threads in Newcomers. Step twelve tells me to try to carry this message to alcoholics. That's why I'm typing now.

For me, my life did a complete 180 degree turn when I sobered up. Nothing is even remotely close to what it used to be. I believe what I've been told, that if I don't remember my last drink, I haven't had it yet. I remember my last drink very well.

Humility is the ability to look in the mirror and see what's really there: nothing more, nothing less.

I used to see lots more and lots less, depending on my mood. Since I sobered up, I see a victorious, recovering, sober alcoholic. I like that. But I always remember that I'm only one drink away from misery. I must do whatever I have to do to stay sober. Number one priority. More important than anything else. If it loses its priority, I might lose everything, including my life. Literally.