Notices

Not sure if I belong here

Old 04-07-2005, 10:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure if I belong here

Whoops, I think I posted this in the wrong spot before, I just saw this forum, sorry for the double post..

Anyways, I’m new here and don’t know if I belong here (that’s where I was hoping you could help me). I’m 23 and have been drinking since I was 13. By the time I was 15 I got drunk every weekend. When I graduated high school I moved to live in London for a year and got very drunk every night, with the exception of those nights I was doing other drugs. I drank like this through my first three years of university, I would drink about 1-2 bottles of wine per night. When I was 21 I had to cut down because I got severe hypoglycaemia and panic attacks. I still drank a lot when my health was up to it for about a year. Now, I drink about 4-5 times a week, but not very much when I do (about 2 drinks). I never get hungover anymore, never get “drunk”, and it doesn’t effect my life. However, right now I am on antibiotics and can’t drink and am finding it really hard. I can’t sleep at night, I can’t relax, I really want a drink. I don’t like labels but am starting to think my youthful “wild days” may have been an indication of something other than that I like to party. How concerned should I be about my drinking habits? I don’t drink to get drunk anymore at all, I really don’t enjoy being falling down drunk, but I drink for a mild buzz quite often.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

I should also mention every male in my family (2 brothers, father, uncles etc) is an alcoholic (my father has been sober about 15-20 years though). I didn’t grow up around alcoholics, my dad quit before I remember him being drunk. My brothers didn’t start until I was older. There have been no female alcoholics in my family, so I always thought I couldn’t be one.

<o:p></o:p>