Notices

Please allow me to introduce myself...

Old 01-28-2005, 01:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please allow me to introduce myself...

Hello everyone,

I'm a little nervous as I have never really spoken about my addiction before so I apologize if this introduction sounds a bit strange. Truth be told, I am only beginning to come to terms with the idea that I may have an addiction... its still seems like such a foreign concept, even though I know its true. But before I go on, for any of the members who are familiar with NA meetings, do you just "go" when you feel ready or must you set up an appointment or assessment before hand? There is no contact number given for the two NA meetings in my town and I'm a little shy about just showing up on Wednesday, not knowing the rules or anything....

Anyway, I am a 22 year old female and I am addicted (ouch... its still terrifying to use that word!) to heroin. I have been sober for 11 days but its hard and I think about using ALL the time. I even dream about it. Detoxing was one of the most difficult things that I have ever done and I hope not to repeat the experience yet at the same time, I don't know how much longer I will be able to stay away from using Hence, I think maybe NA could be helpful and hopefully enlighten me to lead a better, sober life.

Thank you all and I'm very happy to be a part of your community!
Old 01-28-2005, 11:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

the NA meetings are great! i know how you feel about dreaming about the drugs. a woman in one of my meetings said "why shouldn't we dream about it that was the only thing in our lives for however many years!" she is right. I am working on staying sober as well. from what i have learned our endorphines will kick back in and we can feel normal again. it took time to get in our shape and it will take time to get us feeling better! lots of love, dot
Old 01-28-2005, 11:32 PM
  # 3 (permalink)