Notices

Seven days now and I'm panicking

Old 01-19-2005, 02:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Seven days now and I'm panicking

last week I visited the doctor with stomach and upper right hand side pain. It feels like back pain coming from my spine, its tender between the vertebrae, but who knows. I have also suffered for some time from bad digestion (reesty guts as they say in this part of the world) He has sent me for some blood tests as he thinks I may have a bit of 'liver stress'. Of course I'm now writing my will and saying goodbye to the kids.

I am an alcoholic but you would never know. I have been drinking a bottle of wine a day for a long time (10 years at least) rarely much more, always in the evening. (I'm 38)

I have no other symptoms no jaundice, bleeding, bruise, vomiting etc (guess whose been looking up cirrhosis on the web). I had a ultrasound scan about 3 years ago for gallstones , they didn't find any but i was told that the liver looked ok.

Anyone any knowledge on this subject am I right to panic? One benefit is I've not touched a drop for a week!

Thanks
Old 01-19-2005, 02:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Psalm 118:24

Maybe, you're worryin your self too much over this. Good time to give up the drinkin. You can't get good health back once it's gone. I'll b keepin u in my prayers
Old 01-19-2005, 03:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Stay sober and you will find that the liver is a remarkable organ in terms of recovery. I would say try not go get ahead of yourself here too....you dont know what is causing this for sure yet anyway.

Try and get to some AA meetings if you havent done so already. Staying sober requires a lot of support.

Congratulations on your 7 days. That is brilliant.
Old 01-19-2005, 03:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you
Old 01-19-2005, 03:44 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Wetherby,