Notices

A Hard & Wonderful Weekend

Old 01-23-2023, 02:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Hard & Wonderful Weekend

Just wanted to share my experience from the weekend for some who may relate or find hope, and selfishly for myself as a reminder so that I can look back on this post as this situation will arise again shortly.

I am a musician and I had two gigs this weekend (Friday & Saturday).

Friday was hard! It was my first gig since quitting again. It was a typical bar gig which are the hardest ones not to alcohol partake in. I had a very hard time and found the anxiety and alcohol voice taking over and affecting my performance, mood, focus, everything. It really sucked. The bar had NA Heineken which did help a bit, but all in all it hit hard.

I went home after the gig feeling sad that it had affected me so hard as I'd been doing really well with sobriety thus far (Day 25). I managed to accept and acknowledge the night as it was and found myself being able to let it go. I found myself saying to myself, "well, tomorrow can't get any worse than tonight! Now I know what to expect, let's move on."

Firstly, I would've never been able to think that clearly and positively and moved on like that had I not had these passed few weeks sober. I would've sulked and dwelled on my night and it would've extended into the next day(s). I realized this growth and was so happily amazed.

The next day, I did just that. I went in knowing what to expect, got my NA Heineken and rocked the night. I even found myself enjoying watching people getting hammered and me knowing I wasn't gonna make an ass of myself at any point, I was gonna have a good night sleep and I was gonna have a great Sunday. I played really well and was able to shake the alcoholic voice out of my night.

It was both hard and wonderful. I'm gratefully here on Day 28
Old 01-23-2023, 02:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter