Notices

Moving out of sober living.....

Old 12-28-2022, 08:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Moving out of sober living.....

May 9th of this year, I checked myself into a mens detox/rehab facility for 30 days. When I graduated (LOL) I went home, grabbed my pickup and more belongings, then moved into a sober living home for men and also checked into an out-patient program for about 12 weeks. I've been in sober living since.

January 2nd 2023, I will be moving out and sharing a home with one other person. Oh how nice it will be to have my own bedroom, my own bathroom!

I would be lying if I told you that I wasn't nervous. No random testing, no one to oversee and notice any behavioral changes......just me and my roomie.

To put a spin on these new changes, I'm also moving back closer to home. The out-patient program and my sober home is about an hour from where I actually live. I got sober here, all my close AA connections are here and my mentors are here. I'm going to miss them a lot.

Fortunately, during my time here, I actually made the effort to attend AA meetings in my home town occasionally. I know a few AA's there and they continue to turn me onto new people. I've been meeting with a dude that has some lengthy sobriety and he has agreed to help me continue my steps once I move. I'm grateful but the thought of starting over with a new jack is gonna suck. But that's just my self centered alcoholic personality complaining. I've learned that when someone offers time out of their own life to help me, I better dadgum pay attention.

That's all I got. Onward and upward!
Old 12-28-2022, 08:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Nothing Left to do but Smile.

Congratulations on all your success! I don’t have a lot of wisdom on this, but pulling for you!
Old 12-28-2022, 08:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

congrats on your new chapter Farrier - well done

D
Old 12-28-2022, 09:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki