SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Desperately Need Some Accountability (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/461291-desperately-need-some-accountability.html)

LifeOfBrian 11-26-2022 10:43 AM

Desperately Need Some Accountability

I have been secretly drinking spirits (vodka, gin, whisky) for the last 6 years. I started sleeping in a separate room from my wife around that time (due to my snoring) and slipped into a habit of staying up late, streaming tv series and drinking. My unhealthy relationship with alcohol started in my teens. In my early thirties, when the kids were born, I cut back dramatically and rarely drank at all. My relationship with my wife is in a good place, despite sleeping in different rooms. I work in healthcare and I am deeply ashamed that I have allowed my drinking to spiral out of control like this. My hypocrisy hangs heavily on me. I feel that I can't tell my wife, as she is struggling with her own issues, at the moment. It would be very difficult for me to attend meetings, as I regularly appear in media as part of my work.

I need to be accountable to someone in order to stay on track. I desperately want to recover from this. I have made so many attempts and broken so many promises to myself. So, this is Day One. I'm committing to give an honest account of my attempt to remain sober.

VikingGF 11-26-2022 10:48 AM

Welcome to day one. We have all been where you are and know the pain and despair- and we also know there is a way out. You will find excellent support here, you are in the right place, LifeOfBrian.

venuscat 11-26-2022 10:48 AM

Hello, dearest Brian. :hug: s