Notices

I had a small relapse

Old 07-23-2022, 06:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I had a small relapse

Hi guys ... This is my first time writing here...

My story in a nutshell : Growing up, I never drank or used drugs. For context, I am 40 years old. I started drinking minimally in my late twenties.... As my career became more stressful, my drinking increased. It was a social job so it never seemed like over kill. I never got a DUI or hit a "rock bottom". In the 3 years or so the stress of a divorce, my mother almost dying a few times and the pandemic ruining my company I feel like I started to drink more often. I still found a way to make money and still work out almost everyday but I realized about 2 years ago that I didn't like that I drank everyday. ( 2-4 drinks) but it was my go to. So about a month ago I decided to stop drinking and I didn't for a month and I was so happy with how much better I felt.

Last week I went on vacation and drank for 5 days....Not only did I drink, I ate unhealthy food and I texted men back that I shouldn't cause I was buzzed and "happy buzzed" .... So today is day one again ( just hit 24 hours) But I am really bummed on myself ... I was feeling so good... so so healthy mentally and I just want to be back to that place. I felt proud of myself.... I know my trigger is stress for sure.

I just am looking for encouragement right now. I am feeling depressed right now ( I am assuming from the shame I feel from drinking during my vacation ) .... I right the book by Elizabeth Vargas and I relate so much with her story ...

Any words of encouragement to get back on this path are helpful. Thank you
Old 07-23-2022, 06:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome AJ! It's wonderful to have you with us. When I joined here years ago I was in terrible shape - drinking every day, sick, and weak.