Notices

“Amends” vs. “Apologies”

Old 07-20-2022, 08:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Yield beautiful changes

“Amends” vs. “Apologies”

When I first grabbed, desperately, for the rope of sobriety, I was a total MESS of regret and shame.

I had hidden my addiction from everyone, so when the truth came to light my world was shocked. And I was a walking (barely), blubbering apology. Desperate for “forgiveness.”

I woke up in the middle of the night to write long, meandering “I’m so sorry” letters to my family, boss, friends, co-workers, etc…. Felt as though I couldn’t live if they couldn’t forgive me.

BUT.

Recovery changes people. And I am a person changed. Almost 5 months sober, I’ve been diligently working the Steps with my sponsor. Still attending 3-4 AA meetings per week.

I find myself at Step 9. A step I’ve been longing for for 5 months. Forgiveness! Please!

Except….I’m already forgiven in all the ways that matter most. I had all of this stuff turned around. Step 4 showed me MYSELF and Step 5 showed me to God and someone else. Steps 6 and 7 offered me redemption. A new start.

So. Now. Making amends is more about letting those I’ve shocked and harmed have a chance to start healing. It’s not about their forgiveness (though that would be a bonus).

At this point in recovery, Ive found that I don’t REQUIRE the forgiveness of others if I am genuinely able to forgive myself. That makes amends a process of giving rather than receiving.

Which may mean that I am able to act selflessly for the first time in a long time.

-TC
Old 07-20-2022, 09:23 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

"Amend" means "to change." By making amends, one changes whatever in oneself caused the regrettable situation to occur in the first place.
Old 07-20-2022, 10:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Samantha

Exactly. Apologies.... I apologized every time I got drunk and did something stupid. It was meaningless.