Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Cutesy bourgeois stories/hardline abstinence stances depress me

Notices

Old 05-21-2022, 11:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

And I'm already depressed. During my one time in outpatient treatment we were asked what was wrong with this statement: 'Recovery means abstinence.' And no one knew the answer.
Old 05-21-2022, 11:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm no expert, but I do know a tiny little bit of alcohol sets off the most phenomenal craving for more.
Old 05-21-2022, 11:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by pickled1 View Post
I'm no expert, but I do know a tiny little bit of alcohol sets off the most phenomenal craving for more.
That's fine but I'm sick of middle class people whining about drinking a wee bit too much wine. I just can't relate.
Old 05-21-2022, 11:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think you're better to focus on the similarities, Tetrax.
Resentment and contempt are pretty useful for a drinking bloke, but disaster for folks in recovery.

D
Old 05-22-2022, 02:35 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I went to an addiction centre one time to pick up some Campral tablets I was trying. Whilst waiting, I got talking to a recovering (hopefully) drug addict who’d clearly been through hard times. Maybe he thought I was middle class, but I saw him as another addict like me. It doesn’t matter if it’s royalty or hobo, an addict is an addict.

I wouldn’t waste the effort worrying about others. OK, if it’s a group session and someone’s giving their chapter and verse life story, switch off. Everyone else will be thinking just the same as you. This’ll be over one day and you can move on.
Old 05-22-2022, 03:23 AM
  # 6 (permalink)