Notices

Someone’s advice

Old 03-27-2022, 11:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
10r

Someone’s advice

Well, I’m not exactly a newcomer.
My recover from alcohol has been an on going struggle.
truthfully, I am happy alcohol free. More energy and basically getting more things done in my life.
Im studying for my career.

My problem is, I know I shouldn’t pick that 6 pack up but but what forces me to do that?
I don’t do weed although it legal here or smoking.

Ive been to detox and psychotherapy.

Im not a heavy drinker. Just beers but that’s not good enough. I want to be zero alcohol.

Im worried about my relationship with my wife. She is in the know.
my doctor also.

Im on the brink of quitting and I really want to. I need an extra push to free me of this.

please can somebody give me inspirational advice.

Old 03-27-2022, 01:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi 10r, welcome back, I'm glad you posted. All of us here have struggled to quit, myself included. I had over 3 years and actually picked up again due to a time of stress, thinking I could have" just a few". Unfortunately, it never works that way. Once we have changed our brain chemistry, through years of drinking, there is no going back. The prefrontal cortex doesn't function the same and the primitive part of our brain has learned that alcohol provides instant relief for emotional stress or anxiety. Moderation simply isn't possible. The Addictive Voice (AV) results from that basic urge. So the first step is to acknowledge that we can't moderate, and find a way to remind yourself of it constantly. At first it takes regular external reinforcement, but after a while, say 6 mos or more, it is much easier. After a year I rarely had a thought of drinking.

I highly recommend the book Alcohol Explained, by William Morrison, which delves into some of the simple physiological reasons we keep forgetting that we can't moderate and pick up again.