Notices

Day 1

Old 02-26-2022, 06:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Annie

Day 1

Day one. I've been doing coke almost every day for a couple of years now. At first it didn't feel like a problem but it's got to the point now where it's affecting my life every day. Just planning to get it, picking it up and doing that all over again later in the day prevents me from leading a normal day's life. Everything is controlled by coke.

I've decided to stop today. Cold turkey. I live in a remote rown in Africa and there are no treatment facilities near me. About 3 years ago, I flew south and checked in to rehab but I discharged myself after 2 weeks having had THE most awful experience there. NO support. No care, I actually have PTSD from the experience and am very wary of going into treatment again because that one is all I have to compare them to. So here I am on day one trying to do it alone. I feel as though I've lost a friend. I have a few heart palpitations and feel a bit anxious but I'm determined to fix my life and become the person I was before coke took over.
If there is anybody on these forums that's done something similar to me, please message me. I need help and mostly I just need someone who understands to talk to. Thanks for reading. Xxx
Old 02-26-2022, 07:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome, and you are not alone. We are a family here and we do understand what you're going through. If you have any health concerns it might help to talk to your doctor. And, continue to read and post here for support.

"Just planning to get it, picking it up and doing that all over again later in the day prevents me from leading a normal day's life. Everything is controlled by coke." Alcohol was my demon, but I know exactly what you're talking about. My mind was consumed with everything to do with drinking. Have faith that you can get through this.
Old 02-26-2022, 10:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)