Notices

40 days!!

Old 02-03-2022, 06:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

40 days!!

It's been about 15 -20 years since I have gone anytime over 2 weeks with no booze. I started a new job in October. Made it till around Christmas until my boss said you choose rum or the job, can't have both. He is sober so I couldn't hide my drinking.

It's been a long time coming. It's been a daily struggle since I was 17 and I'm 42 now. Was semi functional for the most part until about 2 years ago when I just stopped caring about life and the conquinces of my drinking. I'm a chef on yachts so it is a struggle constantly being around alcohol and people drinking.

I'm giving this sober thing a real 100 percent honest shot for the first time. The boat is spending the next 6 months in the Bahamas so can keep myself busy with positive ocean activities. Been reading here every night since Christmas, this place does make me want to be sober and gives me hope hearing everyone's stories. The good and the bad.
Old 02-03-2022, 06:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Terrific stuff. I got sober at around the same age, 4 years ago now. This website got me sober, kept me sober and I owe it everything. Stay strong, have a plan and stick around here as much as you can. Congrats on 40 days.
Old 02-03-2022, 06:43 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Good to hear from you CC - congrats on 40 days

D
Old 02-03-2022, 06:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Congratulations on 40 days! Awesome. You have a really interesting job!
Old 02-03-2022, 07:28 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Congrats on 40 days CC, very nice going! Wishing you all the best.
Old 02-03-2022, 07:36 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Congratulations on 40 days crazychef!
Old 02-03-2022, 08:12 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Fantastic job, CC! Especially considering where you are and the party environment. With 40 days you are getting to the point where big changes start to happen - good sleep, less anxiety, more confidence.. and clear thinking.