Notices

Saying hello

Old 01-27-2022, 10:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Saying hello

Good morning all

I’m new to this forum but not new to the fight. I’m hoping I can finally make the break from this dreadful habit and that I’m not too late to save my health.

I’ve been slipping slowly and gradually down the slope for a good twelve years now. I occasionally resolve to make the break, but the good intentions leave when the draw of the bottle gets me again.

I simply cannot control it any more, it’s like it has a grip on me and even though I know it’s quite literally killing me I can’t let it go.

I’m a functioning alcoholic. I hold down a very good job. Last year I managed six months booze free and I’ve never felt so good! Why on earth it gripped me again, I just can’t say. 😢

Today I’m back on day three having lapsed on Tuesday for literally no conceivable reason.

Im going for an abdominal ultrasound today and I’m dreading it. I have quite bad pain and I know exactly where it’s coming from. Maybe I’m about the get the final push into sobriety. I just hope I can recover both my liver and my resolve. 🙏🏻🤞

Old 01-27-2022, 10:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congrats on half the year sober last year more than I’ve ever done! I to have an an abdominal ultrasound today. What did you try last year that worked for you?
Old 01-27-2022, 10:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

And welcome to the forum I’m new here as well, you’ll find a very supportive bunch
Old 01-27-2022, 10:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Sue
I hope your results are better than you fear.

Support really helped me satay committed - I think it will help you too

D
Old 01-27-2022, 11:11 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thanks everybody