Notices

wondering

Old 12-12-2004, 11:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

wondering

Hi everyone, I am a drinker, I drink red wine in the evenings, I drink a bottle every night, however I can stop when I feel like it, don't open another, I never get drunk, become aggressive, forget what happened, let my family down, I don't drink during the day, unless we have a BBQ, niether do I drink when I drive, I just like to relax with a drink at night. I am very active, play lawn bowls, bike ride, fish, and enjoy life.

I have been drinking for around 20 years, my wife thinks I am an alchoholic, what do you think?

Mal. :hello2
Old 12-13-2004, 05:04 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We all need each other.

Red face

Hi Mal--Unfortunately, no one can answer that question but you. If you are really concerned about it, why not try giving it up for a month and see what happens. Regardless, welcome to SR. Hang out for a while, read some posts, and see if you can relate. Others will be along soon.
Old 12-13-2004, 05:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Mal,

Lulu's right - give yourself a time period of a month with absolutely no drinking and see how it goes. That should give you the answer to your question.

Anna
Old 12-13-2004, 06:34 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Ama

Good advice!

Do try giving up for a month and see how you feel. One of my best friends gives up every year for 40 days and says it is abit hard from the social point of things!!!! But she is so NOT alcoholic you see and can take it or leave it.

Alcoholics CAN NOT - Alas.......I wish you well ......Luvs Ama
Old 12-13-2004, 07:19 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I agree with the others that have responded BUT have one very good idea should you decide you are not addicted.

Make the xx day test an annual thing. Choose a date like your anniverary or birthdate. A date that you will not forget.