Notices

I almost drank tonite

Old 02-12-2021, 08:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ANM

I almost drank tonite

But, I DIDN'T!!! I am a newbie - 6 weeks Monday - so it is already amazing and a huge deal that I am alcohol free. But tonite, I really wanted a drink. Really, really, really wanted just one glass of wine. I made myself do a zoom yoga class. I normally keep my camera on because I think it's nice to see, and have the teacher see, faces vs. just a black box. I had to turn it off a few minutes in because all i could think about was that one glass of wine. I could taste it. I could feel it. I literally could not concentrate. Then I started rationalizing. Just one. Totally not a big deal. It will be so nice... But then, I started talking back to my AV, like really?! Just one?! Haha - funny! There is no such thing. And even if you did have "just one" how would you feel after (when you started rationalizing having a second one)? And how would you feel when you went to bed knowing that you gave up 6 weeks of sobriety just for a glass of wine and a taste and a feeling so fleeting that just one turns into to 2, 3, 4, 5, a bottle, oh and maybe a shot or 3 of vodka because when you're drunk it always seems like a brilliant idea to get even more drunk even though it makes no difference anyway and you will feel like **** in the morning.

I didn't drink. My AV lost tonite. And I'm really grateful for this forum because knowing you are all here, and feeling extremely accountable, played a huge part in this. Thank you

Old 02-12-2021, 09:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Glad to hear it ANM and good job on recognizing the urge/thoughts and thinking it through. That's exactly how you do it!
Old 02-12-2021, 09:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

That’s AWESOME!!
Old 02-12-2021, 09:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Way to go!! That's how you stay sober, by not giving in to that voice that lies, Just One. Congrats on six weeks sober, and here's to many more sober weeks.