Notices

Good news and worries

Old 01-03-2021, 08:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Good news and worries

I got into grad school! I’m so excited and a bit proud that I actually took some moves in this direction—it’s something I’m passionate about and am doing just for myself and can take anywhere.

I’m also terrified. I have been out of academics for almost a decade and I’m still struggling with my memory and brain fog in sobriety. I have had a few mini relapses and I’m worried that the added stress of school and not feeling smart/capable enough plus raising a young child plus pandemic stuff plus all the trauma work I’m doing right now is going to be a bit much. I’m looking forward to using my brain again; I really do tend to do a lot better when I have concrete goals and deadlines. My imposter syndrome is flaring and I’m worried. I was a great student and I feel like I frittered away all of my brain cells and motivation.

any advice? Idk what I need right now but y’all are my people and I figure at least a couple of you have been here.
Old 01-03-2021, 09:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi PK. I went back to uni last year and graduated this year. Very odd being the oldest there! But good for you for making this move, it shows real guts and vision! Congrats for getting in!!

what are you going to study if you don't mind me asking?
Old 01-03-2021, 09:23 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Super Cool to take this step forward! Something you should be really proud of.

I hear a lot of anxiety in your post. I tend to think of ALL the things as well.

What I can say for certain (and I need to remember this when I get anxious) is that all the future stuff will work itself out. There really is nothing you have to do right now other than take the next step. What is the next step for today?
Old 01-03-2021, 09:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have never done anything like that but I am sure proud of you for your go-getter attitude! Best wishes!
Old 01-03-2021, 09:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator