Notices

I don't think things have got bad enough

Old 11-28-2020, 06:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I don't think things have got bad enough

I'll try to explain....

I've been drinking problemstically for around 10 years, throughout them years I have been through the relapse, recovery cycle many many times. I have had a week here a month there, the longest stretch of sobriety being 5 months. I always return to drinking, and I believe this is for the following reason...

I never let things get too bad, I have certainly not hit "rock bottom". My health is decent, I am relatively wealthy and successful, I lead a pretty boring, organised life. To the outside world I'm admirable.

This isn't me justifying my drinking. I absolutely know i am addicted to alcohol but I do think it is an internal condition of addiction that in order to convince our inner addict to withdraw there needs to be sufficient evidence as to why imbibing is forbidden. I certainly think I have enough evidence to convince my rational brain but not my addict brain and thats the brain that needs convincing to maintain continuous sobriety.

I could easily dance around banging on about how committed to staying sober I am and how toxic drinking is but it just isn't true. I know it should be but it isn't.

Anyway. Day 18. Not sure where I'm headed.
Old 11-28-2020, 06:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Keep drinking and you'll find a very low bottom. We'll leave a light on.

I don't think it's necessary to have dramatic losses in order to quit. That's a rationalization. I didn't have severe external consequences piling up around me when I quit, but I'm still very glad I stopped before they happened. The only "evidence" I needed was that I was tired of the whole thing and I could tell by my increasingly higher intakes and my increased anxiety and inner confusion/depression that it was time.

Old 11-28-2020, 06:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Just wait, it will.
Old 11-28-2020, 06:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)