Notices

My intro

Old 11-16-2020, 06:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My intro

Hello everyone, I'm Casey. I'm 28, from a small town in the middle of nowhere, Mississippi. This is my first ever support group to join and I'm very excited to see whats in store. This is my first true valiant effort being sober, it took me hitting rock bottom but I finally set my unrealistic illusions that I could do drugs and live a normal life aside and actually listened to to my fears I'd been drowning out with drug use.. I want change and I'm the only one who can do that for me. But I can't do it alone. That's where you guys come in! But first a little more lighthearted stuff about me: I love to travel and I've been lucky enough to do so working on the pipeline a few yrs now. American history interests me, I love scary movies, I'm a people person. I know in my heart it's my life's mission to help others. But first I got to help myself. I have my bachelor's degree in psychology, although as said above, I've been working pipeline the past few years, but laid off now due to covid. I fully plan to get my Master's degree and help others sort out their thoughts and feelings. Lets see..what else about me? I'm an advocate for women's rights and have a passion for helping the elderly as well as animals, who, btw, have my heart. I feel we can learn so much from their loyalty and unwavering love. But before I sound too much like mother Teresa, (ha!) Let me sum up the reason I'm even here at all writing this bio: I finally decided to get sober after years of drug abuse. Basically all of my 20's, a blur, and now almost a new decade for my life. But I need help from others who can relate. I simply don't have that and it is starting to really be evident in my ongoing quest for sobriety. I feel the absence of peer support. And I genuinely want to be a source of positivity for someone else going through something similar. I believe it would help both of us.